From the first year after leaving school until post-doctoral research, an international outlook is at the heart of the ENSCR’s work.

The aim of this espace specifically dedicated to international awareness is to:

 give practical replies to questions from foreign school-leavers, undergraduates, students on placement, PhD and post-doctoral students arriving at the ENSCR (inward flow) ;

 inform, advise and support French or foreign school-leavers, undergraduates and PhD students, at of the ENSCR in their international initiatives and projects (outward flow);

 and in general make the ENSCR visible and attractive on the world scène.

International policy

Awareness of other cultures and other ways of living, working and thinking is essential in the engineering profession.

In order to train engineers who are able to work and communicate within an international context, the ENSCR has placed the acquisition of international skills at the heart of its training courses. 

These skills are recognised as having crucial value in the development of an engineering career. This is why now, all engineering students must master one or more foreign languages during their training and develop listening and communication skills by capitalising on their varied experience acquired abroad.

In the foundation courses, two languages are compulsory: English and German/Spanish or English and French as a foreign language (French as a foreign language, provided for foreign students). Other languages may be offered where appropriate (Arabic, Chinese, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese and Russian).

In the engineering courses, the emphasis is on English (preparation for the TOEIC). A second modern language is optional.

To find out more about  Education at the ENSCR

Master’s degrees for foreign students

Foreign students may take Master’s degrees in three specialisms preparing for jobs in research:
Molecular Chemistry
Solid state and materials chemistry
Water quality and treatment

These Master’s degrees may lead to jointly supervised theses

PhD courses for foreign students

Research is a basically international activity. All ENSCR laboratories are aware of this and have been able to develop productive dynamic international collaborations that take the form of:

des jointly supervised theses
welcoming post-doctoral students
becoming involved in European research programmes
high-ranking international publications
registering international patents

Welcoming foreign PhD students and research fellows is one of the undertakings of the European University of Brittany (UEB), for which the ENSCR is founder member. More information on the UEB website (http://www.ueb.eu/)

In addition to the services offered by the European University of Brittany, the ENSCR’s International Relations Department helps research teams with their international co-operation and offers occasional help with logistical problems. The Department of languages provides French as a foreign language courses for all foreign PhD students and research scientists.

International partnerships 

The ENSCR has a wide network of partners who provide help with the international movement of its students.

Placements and periods of study abroad are the cornerstone of our international education policy because they offer unique opportunities to engineering students to learn about and experience other life-styles or forge social relationships.

Nowadays, periods of placement or exchanges abroad have become almost indispensable in any course since they undoubtedly, contribute to the professional and intellectual development and fulfilment for engineering students.

Carte des partenaires

Special activities 

The ENSCR has been exporting its expertise throughout the world for several years within its active instructional design policy. The school is involved in ambitious training programmes with emerging countries.

This commitment is shown in several ways.

Instructional design: as a member of the Agence Universitaire Francophone (AUF), the ENSCR has been working since 2002 within a consortium of Schools in the Fédération Gay-Lussac to rejuvenate the French-speaking Chemistry sector at the University of Chemical technology and Metallurgy (UTCM) and to get it accredited by the CTI (the French Accreditation Board for Engineering).

Five-year training courses for engineers in oil companies: Total Exploitation and Production (TEP) Yemen, TEP Uganda, Petrovietnam and Petronas (Malaysia) and the Malaysian government (SFERE-JPA Malaysia programme)

of Franco-Chinese training programme (engineering degree-master’s degree) with East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST) in Shanghai, China.

Video of the school and the city of Rennes realized by the students

Contact

To contact the International Department: tel +33(0)2 23 23 80 47 or email relations-internationales@ensc-rennes.fr

Depuis la première année post-bac jusqu’au post-doctorat, l’ouverture internationale est au cœur des missions de l’ENSCR.

Cet espace spécialement dédié à l’ouverture sur le monde a pour objectifs :

 d’apporter des réponses concrètes aux questions des élèves, étudiants, stagiaires, doctorants et post-doctorants étrangers arrivant à l’ENSCR (mobilité entrante) ;

 d’informer, orienter et accompagner les élèves, étudiants, doctorants français ou étrangers de l’ENSCR dans leurs démarches et projets à l’international (mobilité sortante) ;

 et plus généralement de rendre l’ENSCR visible et attractive sur la scène mondiale.

La politique internationale

L’ouverture vers d’autres cultures, d’autres façons de vivre, de travailler et de penser est essentielle dans le métier d’ingénieur.

Pour former des ingénieurs aptes à travailler et communiquer dans un contexte international, L’ENSCR a placé l’acquisition d’une « compétence internationale » au cœur de son dispositif de formation.

Cette compétence est reconnue comme une valeur ajoutée capitale dans le déroulement d’une carrière d’ingénieur. Ainsi, durant sa formation tout élève-ingénieur doit désormais acquérir la maîtrise d’une ou de plusieurs langues étrangères, développer des capacités d’écoute et d’échange en capitalisant des expériences variées à l’étranger.

En cycles préparatoires, deux langues sont obligatoires: anglais et allemand/espagnol ou anglais et FLE (français langue étrangère, assuré pour les étudiants étrangers). D’autres langues peuvent le cas échéant être proposées (arabe, chinois, italien, japonais, portugais et russe).

En cycle ingénieur, l’accent est porté sur l’anglais (préparation au TOEIC). La langue vivante 2 est optionnelle.

Pour en savoir plus sur Enseignement Des Langues à l’ENSCR

Des Masters pour les élèves étrangers

Les étudiants étrangers peuvent suivre de Masters dans trois spécialités préparant aux métiers de la recherche :
Chimie Moléculaire
Chimie du Solide et des Matériaux
Qualité et Traitement des Eaux

Ces masters peuvent déboucher sur des co-tutelles de thèses

Des études doctorales pour les élèves étrangers

La recherche est une activité fondamentalement internationale. Tous les laboratoires de l’ENSCR en sont conscients et ont su développer des collaborations internationales dynamiques et productives qui se concrétisent par :

 des co-tutelles de thèse
l’accueil de post-doctorants
l’implication dans des programmes de recherche européens
des publications internationales de premier ordre
des dépôts de brevets internationaux

L’accueil des doctorants (et enseignants chercheurs) étrangers est une des missions de l’Université Bretagne Loire (UBL), dont l’ENSCR est membre. Plus d’infos sur le site de l’UBL (http://u-bretagneloire.fr/)

En complément des prestations offertes par l’Université Européenne de Bretagne, le service des Relations Internationales de l’Ecole assiste les équipes de recherche pour faciliter le fonctionnement de leurs coopérations internationales et répondre à leurs besoins ponctuels d’ordre logistique. Le Département de langues assure des cours de Français Langue Etrangère pour tous les doctorants et chercheurs étrangers.

Les partenariats internationaux

L’ENSCR a un vaste réseau de partenaires au service de la mobilité internationale de ses étudiants.

Clé de voûte de la politique de formation internationale de l’établissement, les stages et séjours d’études à l’étranger offrent aux élèves ingénieurs des opportunités privilégiées d’appréhender et de faire l’expérience d’autres façons de vivre ou concevoir les rapports sociaux.

Passage désormais quasi-incontournable dans un parcours de formation, les périodes de stages ou d’échanges à l’étranger contribuent  indubitablement à l’épanouissement et l’enrichissement professionnel et intellectuel des élèves-ingénieurs.

Carte des partenaires

Des actions spécifiques

Depuis plusieurs années, l’ENSCR exporte à l’international son savoir-faire grâce à une politique d’ingénierie pédagogique active. L’école s’implique dans des programmes de formation ambitieux avec les pays émergents.

Plusieurs actions caractérisent son engagement.

Ingénierie pédagogique : membre de l’Agence Universitaire Francophone (AUF), l’ENSCR  œuvre depuis 2002 au sein d’un consortium d’Ecoles de la Fédération Gay-Lussac pour la rénovation de la filière francophone chimie de l’Université de Technologie Chimique et de Métallurgie (UTCM) et son accréditation par la Commission des Titres d’Ingénieur.

Formation d’ingénieurs en 5 ans pour les sociétés pétrolières TOTAL Exploitation et Production (TEP) Yemen, TEP Ouganda,  PETROVIETNAM et PETRONAS (Malaisie) et le gouvernement malaisien (programme SFERE-JPA Malaisie)

Programme de formation franco-chinois (diplôme d’ingénieur-master) avec East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST) à Shanghaï, Chine.

Contact

Pour contacter le service International : tel +33(0)2 23 23 80 47 ou relations-internationales@ensc-rennes.fr